Following on from this week’s successful Denton Carnival, the town will soon have another reason to come together and celebrate! (Reproduced from the Denton Town Twinning Association’s press release)…

DENTON will come alive on Saturday 22nd September from 12pm as the town will celebrate its new German twinning with Kierspe, and its 20th anniversary of its existing French link with Montigny-le-Bretonneux.

Local bands ‘Stop The Blackout’ and ‘Swingin’ Affair’ will lead the festivities in Victoria Park alongside other acts as hundreds are expected to join in the fun. A Farmers and Craft Market is planned for the Civic Square and Denton’s Hornbeam Brewery will have their own outside bar on the Square, selling ‘Kierspe Kellerbier’ and other locally produced ales.

Victoria Park will be decorated with flags and bunting of the three countries, and local community, sports and arts groups will be running stalls and demonstrations to exhibit their work throughout the square.

Event Organiser George Newton said:

“The day has taken a year to plan – its going to be huge! The majority of local groups are getting involved; the day will boast just what can be done in Denton!”

An envoy of 35 French and German guests, including residents and town mayors, from our twin towns will be coming over for the weekend to join in the festivities and to witness the signing of the twinning agreements in Denton Town Hall, just before the festivities.

They will be greeted by members of Denton Town Twinning Association, Denton MP Andrew Gwynne and Civic Mayor Cllr Brenda Warrington. Nicholas About, the mayor of Montigny who initiated the twinning twenty years ago, will be returning to the town to recognise the 20th anniversary.

Members of the Association visited Kierspe in April to negotiate a formal twinning with the town; a treaty of twinning will be signed at Denton Town Hall on the Twinning Day.

It’s not too late to get involved; please contact George Newton via

Constituency Office Address

Town Hall, Market Street, Denton, M34 2AP

Parliamentary Office Address

House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA