Andrew Gwynne, MP for Denton and Reddish and Shadow Public Health Minister, has stated that he is ‘deeply concerned’ after receiving news that Tameside Hospital and 16 others across Greater Manchester are postponing non-urgent surgery and appointments.

The decision was taken by the Greater Manchester Health and Social Care Partnership late last night, as a result of the ‘high and rising’ level of staff absences due to COVID 19.

In a statement, Andrew Gwynne said:

“I am deeply concerned by the news that non-urgent elective care is now paused across Greater Manchester at a number of hospitals. The impact of Omicron on our NHS is clear, and patients will understandably feel very anxious about planned operations, and when they will receive care.


This news compounds an NHS backlog that was already at record levels before the pandemic began. I urge the Government to be honest about the pressure that the NHS is under, and outline what actions they will be taking to support staff, and ensure that local hospitals are able to guarantee patient safety.


As Shadow Public Health Minister, I am monitoring the situation closely alongside the Shadow Health Secretary Wes Streeting, and we will be raising the situation as a matter of urgency in the Commons today.


I would also just like to take a moment to thank out NHS staff who are working extraordinarily hard to try and keep the show on the road in the face of unprecedented challenges.”

The hospitals affected by the pause in non-elective care are as follows:

  • Royal Bolton Hospital
  • Fairfield General Hospital
  • Manchester Royal Infirmary
  • Manchester Royal Eye Hospital
  • University Dental Hospital of Manchester
  • St Mary’s Hospital
  • North Manchester General Hospital
  • The Royal Oldham Hospital
  • Stepping Hill Hospital
  • Tameside General Hospital
  • Trafford General Hospital
  • Royal Albert Edward Infirmary
  • Wrightington Hospital
  • Leigh Infirmary
  • Wythenshawe Hospital
  • Macclesfield District General Hospital

Constituency Office Address

Town Hall, Market Street, Denton, M34 2AP

Parliamentary Office Address

House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA