Andrew Gwynne, MP for Denton and Reddish, has tabled an Early Day Motion to recognise the recent Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman’s (PHSO) report into State Pension Age communications.

Gwynne, who is Co-Chair of the All-party parliamentary group for State Pension Inequality for Women alongside Conservative MP Peter Aldous, has tabled the motion to put pressure on the Department for Work and Pensions to act in addressing the ongoing 1950s-born women’s pension injustice.

An Early Day Motion is a non-binding motion which is open for MPs to sign during the parliamentary session. Traditionally, EDM’s have been used by MPs to raise awareness of a particular topic, and to indicate cross-party support for an issue.

Gwynne’s EDM highlights the recent findings of the PHSO who are in the process of investigating the Department for Work and Pensions. The PHSO found that successive DWP administrations had committed maladministration in inadequately communicating changes to State Pension age for 1950s-born women.

Commenting on the motion, Andrew Gwynne said:

“I’m pleased that this motion has been published and is garnering cross-party support. An early day motion in itself will not force the Government to act, but it will allow Parliamentarians to express their frustration at the lack of action from the DWP.

This is part of the continuing work that the APPG is doing; namely, to continue to raise this issue and draw attention to it by any parliamentary means possible. We hope to utlise parliamentary procedure to bring this issue to the floor of the House, and will continue to update 1950s-born women accordingly. They are doing a fantastic job of campaigning for justice outside of Parliament, and parliamentarians must now start matching their efforts.

My message to the Government is simple. Meet with 1950s-women, APPG members and policymakers. Let’s sort this problem out once and for all.”

To read the full text of the Early day motion click here.

Constituency Office Address

Town Hall, Market Street, Denton, M34 2AP

Parliamentary Office Address

House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA