Tim (Small) (3)On Thursday 23rd October, Andrew Gwynne, Labour MP for Denton & Reddish, and Tim, a Dogs Trust rescue dog, will compete against MPs from all over the UK in a bid to win the coveted title of ‘Westminster Dog of the Year 2014’.

Dogs of all shapes and sizes will be whipping their MP owners into shape as they head to Victoria Tower Gardens, Westminster, London to see who will be crowned top ‘pawlitical’ dog for 2014.

Organised jointly by Dogs Trust and the Kennel Club, the competition offers the unique chance for Andrew to show off his four-legged friend. As well as this, the competition encourages an open dialogue on important dog welfare issues ahead of next year’s General Election.

Proud sponsor, Andrew Gwynne MP, explains:

“As a dog lover I am so delighted to be entering a Dogs Trust Rescue dog on behalf of Denton & Reddish. I am hoping we can help each other out and be victorious in the competition. The biggest win would be to help find the dog a loving home for life in the process”.

The theme of this year’s event is the importance of training and education and aims to reinforce the messages surrounding responsible dog ownership and how this helps to strengthen the bond between dog and owner.

MPs will be calling for their supporters to vote for them, in a bid to win the public vote, with additional judging on the day which will review the contestants on their heroic doggy deeds and winning personalities. This will then determine which political pooch will take home the ultimate parliamentary privilege of the ‘Westminster Dog of the Year 2014’ title.

The Westminster Dog of the Year 2014 competition starts at 10.00am on Thursday 23rd October at Victoria Tower Gardens. The judging panel that will determine which pooch wins the hotly contested crown includes Clarissa Baldwin OBE, CEO of Dogs Trust, Caroline Kisko, Kennel Club Secretary and last year’s winner, Rt Hon Sir Alan Duncan MP.

Details of MPs and dogs entered for this year’s Westminster Dog of the Year can be found at www.thekennelclub.org.uk/westminsterdogoftheyear

Constituency Office Address

Town Hall, Market Street, Denton, M34 2AP

Parliamentary Office Address

House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA